How The Light Gets In 2018-06-17T23:31:25+00:00

How The Light Gets In

How The Light Gets In, a new concert presentation of micro-musicals (30 minutes or less), was commissioned by NYMF (with support from The ASCAP Foundation and Jan Brandt), in an effort to create more space for arts-based civic engagement. Directed by Jonathan McCrory (National Black Theatre) and co-curated by Zhailon Levingston (Broadway Advocacy Coalition), participating artists included: Ty Defoe and Tidtaya Sinutoke with Water Is Life; Lelund Durond Thompson and Jason Michael Webb with Ilathi: The Gift; and Ryan Scott Oliver and Nessie Nankivell with Otherbody. A moderated conversation with artists discussing the process of developing their micro-musicals followed the concert.


Joan Henry

Jessica Ranville ~ Abena Mensah-Bonsu ~ Angel Harrison ~ Kenneth M.E. Lopez

Music & Libretto by Ty Defoe & Tidtaya Sinutoke
Directed by Jonathan McCrory
Musical Director Max F. Gordon